Promoting safe use of electromagnetic energy

Login / Signup
Next ICES/TC95 Meeting September 9-11, 2014 Pismo Beach, California Approved minutes of TC95 and SC3/4 meetings are updated

Comments submitted to the FCC

ICES has submitted comments and reply comments concerning Further Notice of Proposed Rule Making (FNPRM) and Notice of Inquiry (NOI) issued by the Federal Communications Commission (Proceedings 13-84 and 03-137).

Comments can be found here
Reply comments are available here

COMAR Technical Information Statement on Smart Meters

IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society’s Committee on Man and Radiation (COMAR) has posted a technical information statement to address public concerns about the RF EMF exposure from smart meters. The statement concludes that “The RF exposure levels from Smart Meters are far below U.S. and major international limits. Such exposures are typically below levels of RF exposure from a multitude of RF emitting appliances found in modern homes”.
To read the full technical statement please click here.

In memoriam Eleanor Adair It is with great sadness that ICES reports the death of Dr. Eleanor Reed Adair on 20 April 2013. Ellie was one of the founders and greatest contributors to ICES and to the whole field of bioelectromagnetics. Expressions of condolence and personal memories of your time with Ellie may be sent to her daughter, Maggie Quinn at or Margaret Adair Quinn, 335 Litchfield Turnpike, Bethany CT 06524.

IEEE announced no-cost public access to select IEEE C95 standards for exposure to electromagnetic fields. The IEEE announcement quotes ICES member Ron Petersen, IEEE Life Fellow and Past Chairman of ICES, “The IEEE C95 standards are science-based and represent decades of work conducted in an open, consensus-based process by the largest and most diverse community of international experts involved in electromagnetic safety standardization.” ICES member B. Jon Klauenberg is also quoted. The no-cost public access is supported by the U.S. Department of Defense. Read the IEEE announcement in their press release. The IEEE C95 standards are available through the IEEE GET PROGRAM at, also available in our Links.