AdCom has approved the appointment of Dr. William Bailey and Dr. Gregory Lapin as the Co-Chairs of SC4, replacing the deceased Dr. Marvin Ziskin and the retired Dr. Artnarong Thansandote. We thank Marv and Art for their 17 years of service, and welcome Bill and Greg as the new co-chairs.

Dr. Bailey specializes in applying state-of-the-art assessment methods to environmental and occupational health issues. His 30 years of training and experience include laboratory and epidemiologic research, health risk assessment, and comprehensive exposure analysis. Dr. Bailey has investigated exposures to alternating current, direct current, and radiofrequency electromagnetic fields, ‘stray voltage’, and electrical shock, as well as to a variety of chemical agents and air pollutants. He is particularly well known for his research on potential effects of electromagnetic fields on the environment and health and has served as an advisor to numerous state, federal, and international agencies. Currently, he is involved in research on exposures to marine life from submarine cables, respiratory exposures to ultrafine- and nanoparticles, and EMF and RF exposure guidelines.
Dr. Bailey has been a visiting scientist at the Cornell University Medical College and has lectured at Rutgers University, the University of Texas (San Antonio), and the Harvard School of Public Health. He was formerly Head of the Laboratory of Neuropharmacology and Environmental Toxicology at the New York State Institute for Basic Research, Staten Island, New York, and an Assistant Professor and NIH postdoctoral fellow in Neurochemistry at The Rockefeller University in New York.

Gregory D. Lapin, Ph.D., P.E.
Gregory D. Lapin is an electrical and biomedical engineer with foci in radio frequency communications and brain effects. He received an MS degree in Electrical Engineering with a thesis topic of brainstem evoked response. His PhD research was based on tissue characterization with ultrasound imaging. From 1987 to 1995 he was an Assistant Research Professor at Northwestern University studying permeability of the blood-brain barrier and drug delivery to brain tumors. From 1995 through 2019 he consulted in the fields of medical instrumentation and telecommunications. From 1998 to the present, he has been the chairman of the ARRL RF Safety Committee, responsible for developing policies and training for the amateur radio community to develop and practice safety programs for exposure from their stations.
From 2001 to the present, he has been a member of the FCC Technological Advisory Council. Dr. Lapin holds a PE license from the State of Illinois. He is a Life Senior Member of IEEE in the EMB, EMC, A&P and Communications Societies, and serves as a member of COMAR and ICES. He is a member of NFPA and serves on the Public Emergency Reporting Systems Committee of the National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code. He holds FCC amateur radio license N9GL and is a member of ARRL and RSGB.