On the recommendation of the IEEE Standards Association’s Awards and Recognition Committee and the approval of the association’s Board of Governors, Ric Tell has been selected as a recipient of the IEEE SA Lifetime Achievement Award “For more than 50 years of outstanding contributions to the science and technology of nonionizing radiation safety, and for developing standards for measurement methods, safety programs, and exposure limits”.

The IEEE SA Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded for 15+ year commitment to standards development within IEEE and other national and international standards activities who provided significant technical contributions to a standards committee or in their field of interest. Further information about the award, including a list of past recipients, may be found at:
The award will be presented on Sunday 4 December 2022 at The Imperia, located in Somerset, New Jersey, U.S.A.

Ric Tell has involved in the activities of IEEE Standards Coordinating Committee 39, International Committee on Electromagnetic Safety, Technical Committee 95
SC1 Techniques, Procedures, & Instrumentation (member)
SC2 Terminology, Units of Measurement, & Hazard Communication (Chairman)
SC3 Safety Levels, Human Exposure, 0-3 kHz (member)
SC4 Safety Levels, Human Exposure, 3 kHz-300 GHz (member)
SC5 Safety Levels, Electro-Explosive Devices (member)
SC6 EMF Dosimetry Modeling (member)
And also of IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology, Committee on Man and Radiation (Chairman)

Ric has 55 years of experience working on radio frequency safety issues, first at the US Environmental Protection Agency for 20 years, where he served as the Chief of the agency’s Electromagnetics Branch, and since then in his own scientific consulting business for 35 years. His specialty areas include RF safety, RF field exposure assessment, antenna analysis, and field measurements. Much of his work has been in helping clients to evaluate compliance with applicable standards and establish RF safety programs within their companies. He has been an elected member of the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) and serves as the Chairman of Subcommittee 2 of the IEEE International Committee on Electromagnetic Safety (ICES) TC95 that, published the IEEE Std C95.7 Recommended Practice for RF Safety Programs and IEEE Std C95.2 on Radio Frequency Energy and Current-Flow Symbols. He is the Chairman of the IEEE/EMBS Committee on Man and Radiation (COMAR) and serves on the NCRP Advisory Panel on Nonionizing Radiation. He was a recipient of the 2019 Non-Ionizing Radiation Distinguished Service Award from the Health Physics Society.

Congratulations, Ric, on this well-deserved honor. We as ICES members are so proud of you.

C-K. Chou, TC95 Chairman