During the 64th Health Physics Society (HPS) annual meeting in Orlando, Florida on Tuesday 9 July 2019. Dr. Jerrold Bushberg, President of the Non Ionizing Radiation (NIR) Section of HPS presented the 2019 NIR Distinguished Service Award to Richard Tell.
Established in 2018, this award is designed to acknowledge outstanding contributions to the science and technology of non-ionizing radiation safety. The recipient of the award is recognized for accomplishments of fundamental importance to the practice, acceptance, and advancement of Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection.

Ric Tell is Chair of Subcommittee 2 (Terminology, Units of Measurement and Hazard Communications) in the IEEE International Committee on Electromagnetic Safety (ICES) TC95 and Chair of the IEEE Committee on Man and Radiation (COMAR). He is an expert on RF exposure assessment, specializing in the measurement and analysis of RF fields, and the development of RF safety programs. Ric has a BS degree in physics and an MS degree in radiation sciences and is a Life Fellow of the IEEE. His professional background includes 20 years at the USEPA where he served as chief of the electromagnetics branch. During the past 32 years since leaving government service, he has pursued his own scientific consulting practice related to electromagnetic field exposure assessment and RF safety. He has been a leader in RF safety research, RF standards development and continues to provide guidance to clients on host of complex RF compliance and safety issues.